• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

First timer - Dual agents for same contract - how to remove one?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

First timer - Dual agents for same contract - how to remove one?

Hi,

I am new to the whole contracting scene and am looking for some opinion on how to handle a contract renewal I have been offered on my first "gig". I currently contract via Agency A - and I believed that Agency A contracted to client, however I have since discovered that Agency A actually contract to Agency B who are in turn the preferred supplier to the client. Many of the other contractors on site contract directly with Agency B.

This means my rate is much lower than my peers as two agents are eating into the client rate with margin (I now know the client rate so between them the two agents combined margin is 25%).

The client wants me to stay and has offered me a new contract (via Agency B > A > My Ltd) - Agency A does nothing except process my invoice (they have only ever visited the site once) under the same payment terms as Agency B (so no factoring) - whereas Agency B have a permanent presence on site and have done a lot more for me in keeping me informed of any upcoming projects / issues.

I need to explore how I can get shot of Agency A - now, as a contractor noob Agency A was able to get me to sign the opt-out (my mistake, lesson learned) - so I have the usual 'handcuff' clause. What would be a reasonable %'age to offer Agency A in F&F to get rid?