• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Umbrella companies, IR35 and the Job Retention Scheme

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Umbrella companies, IR35 and the Job Retention Scheme

I apologise if this is being discussed elsewhere - I have searched the forums and can't find anything but may have missed it.

I am fairly new to the UK and VERY new to umbrella companies and IR35. Currently with an umbrella company on an inside IR35 contract for which I was recruited by an agency.

Thankfully, I am currently still working but obviously thinking ahead...

If my contract comes to an end prematurely, will I be covered by the Job Retention Scheme for the self-employed?

Prior to today's self-employed announcement, my umbrella company (officially my 'employer') said I was not covered by the scheme. And obviously I'm not covered for anything by the company I work for. Can anyone advise on this? I'm on a spouse visa and can't claim unemployment benefits if things go pear shaped, so keen to figure out what my options are.

Thanks in advance!

Originally posted by TazCaz View Post
    I apologise if this is being discussed elsewhere - I have searched the forums and can't find anything but may have missed it.

I am fairly new to the UK and VERY new to umbrella companies and IR35. Currently with an umbrella company on an inside IR35 contract for which I was recruited by an agency.

If my contract comes to an end prematurely, will I be covered by the Job Retention Scheme for the self-employed?