• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Claiming JSA - my experience

Collapse
This is a sticky topic.
X
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Claiming JSA - my experience

To start with, I've no experience of how this 80% thing works. BUT if you need to claim JSA as a limited company contractor this is what I did a few years ago. Obviously, rules MAY have changed a bit since then.

Few things to note:-

1. You can claim contribution-based JSA even if you're partner works if you've paid NI. For 6 months I think?
    2. You will have to sign on/go to meetings etc.
    3. There may be a limit on savings now - it used to be £16K.

OK, so you're an employee of your company but you're still an employee. The rules are if there is "no work" then you can be put on temporary furlough and claim benefits.

No need to close down company, but you do need to make yourself redundant. And get P45 from accountant. Whether you can still pay dividends is a grey area - I would say its best not to.
    Do it NOW before you claim. Also, use savings to pay off credit card bills rather than keep it in savings if you can.

First thing is you've to phone and start the claim off. Then fill in the forms. Then you'll get an appointment to visit the jobcentre.

The Jobcentre experience is not great but you have to go in to speak to someone. The forms you fill in are a nightmare. I found the people in the Jobcentre were fine - they treated me OK but I guess they're used to speaking to complete losers generally so if you're polite to them.