• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Struggling to get the next contract

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Struggling to get the next contract

Hi guys,

I very much appreciate if someone could advise. I have been contracting for about 5 years now all within banking. I am a data analyst/developer with a Computer Science background. I work with a range of languages such as SAS, VBA, Python.

I have never really had any trouble getting work. However, this time it seems I am struggling. I have been off since January this year and I haven’t had any interviews apart from a couple of telephone interviews, which didn’t go anywhere. I have had a few potential contracts come up (with interviews lined up) but then, a few days before the interview or a few days after CVs were submitted, they have had their budgets pulled or they were converted to permanent roles.

It’s the first time I have looked for contracts at the beginning of the year. Not sure if it’s the time of the year that is making a difference. Perhaps things are slow right now as budgets are still being worked out. I also spoke to a recruiter yesterday who said that it is an employers market right now which makes getting a role more difficult.

Any advice or insight would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

Regards

How's the warchest?

Comment

That's the market at the moment I'm afraid. I wouldn't read anything in to the time of year. There is apparently a good reason why every month is a bad month to find gig's and it's nearly all rubbish.