Post-Contracting Life Post-Contracting Life
Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
Posts 1 to 10 of 49

Nervous Newbie

Northern Soul has no reputation

Default Post-Contracting Life

Hi

Think I'm getting close to finally downing tools and leaving IT contracting. For reasons unknown, as a senior PM with 30 years in the game I'm finding harder than ever to find a contract. I can handle this, the party had to end some time. And I am finding it more difficult than ever to tolerate the agents, who as we all know, make estate agents and politicians look virtuous by comparison.

The profession has been good to me over the years, both as a permie and as a freelancer, I really can't complain, about to turn 50 and I'm financially secure, no mortgage, can get by OK on my savings until I hit 55 and can get my grubby hands on my pension fund.

Anyway, reason for this post is to hopefully generate ideas for what I could consider doing instead. I'm not ready to sit around all day, can't jet off to see the world w/o a divorce (missus not ready to finish work for a fair few years yet)....so I'm looking for random ideas that I could explore for work outside IT.

Any forum contributors got any experiences of what they tried after contracting ? Did it work out ? I fancy something hands-on and practical. Really fancied car mechanic, alas no chance there, my investigations have confirmed that apprenticeships for a 50 year are somewhat thin on the ground LOL.

Anyhow, any random ideas, experiences, etc., would be welcome, they might help generate a thought or two because lack of imagination on my part is part of my challenge.

Cheers.
    Northern Soul.

My post count is Majestic

SueEllen is always on top

What are your hobbies? And notice I said hobbies plural.
    "You’re just a bad memory who doesn’t know when to go away" JR

My post count is Majestic

northernladuk has reached the peak. Play again?