• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Complete Newbie to Contracting

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Complete Newbie to Contracting

Hi,

I recently took up a 6 month contracting gig within the public sector and was put down the umbrella route with the choice of 3 agencies on recruiters PSL. After much deliberation, I chose one of the 3 after hearing all the terms and conditions and researching a fair amount on the net.

What I need to better understand from an independent viewpoint and not from someone trying to get my service.

Claiming expenses through Umbrella has all changed. I have passed the SDC test on all 3 agencies as I work fully autonomously however what is actually claimable in terms of mileage, travel, subsistence and lodgings?

I commute 1000 miles (round trip) per week to temporary lodgings for my assignment for the next 6 months and will be driving some weeks and also flying some others. From my first wage it seems I am able through tax relief claim back about 89% of the wage - is this the normal? I keep all my receipts for my own sanity even though the payroll company stated this is not necessary and am claiming lodgings, mileage 45p for first 10,000 and subsistence of £25 per day when based at temporary lodgings.

I would just like re-assurance that this is the normal and how many people out there under umbrella contracts are claiming expenses?

The agency I am using are very reputable but will keep them anonymous.

I appreciate everyone's help and apologise in advance for poor grammar