• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

The student issue again

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

I graduated some 14 years ago now with a CS degree. Even before I started I didn't expect to learn much during the course, I only knew it was a required stepping stone to get me the job I wanted. At the time (and probably still), it's very hard to get a job as a software engineer/developer/programmer without a related university degree.

At the time, tuition fees were 'only' £3k a year unlike the £9k they are today. I didn't think it was good value then (in my final year I had only 6 hours contact time per week) and I'm sure it isn't now. I don't understand why colleges and sixth forms assume most students will go to university. Had I wanted a different career I would definitely have either started work straight out of college or done some vocational qualification instead.

University has to be the most over-priced and over-rated way of spending 3 years of your life. Whenever I talk to young people, I actively discourage them from going unless they want a career that absolutely requires it (e.g. doctor). Many of them don't even know what they want to do after university, they've just had it drummed into them that it's part of their education process.

Comment

Originally posted by Willapp View Post
      Many of them don't even know what they want to do before OR after university, they've just had it drummed into them that it's part of their education process.
      Exactly.