• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Hitting the 10 year wall

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Hitting the 10 year wall

So I've been contracting for 10 years with 2.5 at current gig.

Just spunked 10k on 2 holidays and then have been told current client might need to cut my contract short by 3 month and end at end of Sept. Then found out today new head of IT is trying to revoke my access to systems meaning I might have to go at start of August.

Whilst trying to sort it all out I suddenly began to doubt why I was bothering. It seems I have no energy for the good fight any more so am hoping that some of you will give me kind words and some of you will take the piss. Either way I might be able to start the furnace going again.

Originally posted by radish2008 View Post

Just spunked 10k on 2 holidays and then have been told current client might need to cut my contract short by 3 month and end at end of Sept. Then found out today new head of IT is trying to revoke my access to systems meaning I might have to go at start of August.

Whilst trying to sort it all out I suddenly began to doubt why I was bothering. It seems I have no energy for the good fight any more so am hoping that some of you will give me kind words and some of you will take the piss. Either way I might be able to start the furnace going again.
    Is it the amount of time you've been doing it or has the industry changed for the worst?

Personally I think it's the latter.

Comment

Originally posted by The Castle Cary Fairy View Post