• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Would you give up Contracting for "promotion"?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Would you give up Contracting for "promotion"?

I'm currently a infrastructure engineer and have been contracting for nearly a year, I've just been extended until the end of October (end of company year) and have been asked on the side by the hiring manager if I would be interested in a perm role when the extension is finished.

Putting the going direct recruiter stuff aside...

Obviously, I can get more money in contracting (I'm on £280 a day, first contract so was fine but really I think I can push to the £320-£350 mark if I go further afield), but I am going to say I am only interested in a Architect role (something that they desperately need, but have never had).. I suspect that the salary will be around the 50k mark, not sure on other benefits.

But in the long terms, I'm thinking in 5 years, I can return to contracting as a Architect with the experience of a national company and be commanding a few hundred more than I make at the moment (£450 in london/milton keynes?).

Pros:
    Architect is what the end goal for me was, ironically the chance may of come as soon as I turn to contracting
    Paid Sick, holidays bla bla bla
    I get on with the people I work with
    When I move house (in next few months), travel will be about 10-15 minutes.

Cons:
    Less money
    Less freedom
    I could have to get involved in the BAU crap that I currently say I'm not doing as I'm contracted to do X