• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Client is providing a detailed day agenda for contractor

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Client is providing a detailed day agenda for contractor

Hi forum, I need your lights as I am a new contractor.

Due to flight cancellations I was stuck in a remote location. I would VPN to the office in the next day. We held a meeting with the client manager, and he gave me a detailed to-do agenda for the next day "to make sure I don't run out of things to do since I'm remotely". He caught me off guard so I nodded.

I feel like a child being told what to do, let alone being a professional service provider. How do I prevent this from happening next time?

Talk to him?

Comment

How often do you expect your flight being cancelled?
      'CUK forum personality of 2011 - Winner - Yes really!!!!

Comment

Is this the same client who thinks you are not doing any work?

If so, they are giving you specific tasks and then will be checking to make sure you have done them.

It's difficult to say much more than that because your English isn't great and it's not clear whether you were stuck away from their site for several days, if you were there as part of your work for the client, or on holiday, whether you are working for an intermediary or directly with the end client, etc.

1. Being a contractor means being given tasks to do.
        2. Being professional means delivering tasks using your ability.