• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Work life balance and expectations

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Work life balance and expectations

Hi,
    I work as an IT engineer in the North West in a medium sized organisation on 50k a year with a good pension. My work is somewhat varied as I have a reasonable amount of freedom around projects that I get involved in. I left the contracting market a few years ago after the Mrs wanted to move and I took my job as:
    - It's a 25 minute commute from home
    - It pays reasonably well for the area
    - Good pension
    - I can work 2-3 days a week from home (generally there's very little travel requirements)
    - Low stress and pressure, this is in part due to the fact that I'm good at what I do, but also as the organisation is a bit disorganised, I only need to work at the level of my peers to do a reasonable job (in some cases, not difficult)
    - Flexible hours, e.g. 8 to 4, 10 to 6, etc without the need to do overtime, on calls or formally log hours

The downsides to the role are:
    - No formal training/courses available
    - Takes forever for senior management to make a decision or change the status quo
    - Slow to adopt new technology
    - Lack of career progression
    - A significant culture of following the highest paid opinion