• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Removing 1st 10 years off CV?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Removing 1st 10 years off CV?

Just wondering what the general consensus is for this.

Bit of background - I'm a front end developer, been contracting for 11 years now, had a mixture of perm / contract roles before this, back to 1996. My CV is 2 pages long, I detail my latest contracts (last 4-5 years where sites are still live and skills relevant) fully, contracts back to 2008 get a reasonable but brief description, before this it just client, title, date.

As a front end developer, the technologies I have used more recently are obviously the most relevant, and building sites with frames, table layouts and browser sniffing JavaScript is pretty much irrelevant now (except for HTML emails I guess, but don't really deal with that). So is it worth removing the positions from my CV I had prior to starting my second contracting stint in 2008.

I am thinking about age discrimination really. I realise that shouldn't be an issue, as it is illegal, but believe it is still really an issue. Recruiters seeing 23 year experience will be expecting someone in their 40's+, where as 11 years experience on first look, they will probably expect someone younger. Agents receive huge amounts of applications for each role, so anything that stops them discarding you for the role has to be good, right?