• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Hello I’m an Agent, I get a billion, squillion CVs a day

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Originally posted by SimonMac View Post
    To be honest, I've never had an agent say this to me.

I am not in a niche role, but the experience and clients I've had in past contracts means when ever someone gets my CV I'm confident I'll get a follow up call asking which bodies I caused and where they are buried
    FTFY
    Always forgive your enemies; nothing annoys them so much.

Comment

Originally posted by ContractBunny View Post
      Can we just lay the whole “I got 50/100/500 cvs for this role” thing to rest. It is blatantly lies, they probably do get tens of cvs that are out and out chaff but they very quickly filter them out.

The “I got over a 100 cvs” thing is just a reflex reaction if they are not really interested in you or they can smell the desperation. It is just the other end of the spectrum from when they are interested in you and they tell you, you are the only contractor in the world.
      What role do you do that there are 100's (or even in the 10's) of applicants? For the roles I do I get calls off the agents and I'm asked to apply. Maybe cross train to a skill set where there is less competition. I hear VB6 is still in demand
      Last edited by Whorty; 17 October 2019, 08:32.
      I am what I drink, and I'm a bitter man

Comment

Originally posted by ContractBunny View Post