• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Isolation - Working from Home

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Isolation - Working from Home

I know a lot more people have been working form home during the virus, I have been working from home for the past 15 years.

It definitely has it's benefits:
    - No commute
    - Can complete other non - work tasks
    - Control work environment
    - Flexibility working schedule

However there have been a number of problems that I have found difficult to cope with isolation - no chance of making friends from work and being alone in the house for long periods

I have considered going back to work in an office, but the main benefits above are lost and I would very much like to keep them.

I wondered if anyone else has experienced this and what they might have done to combat this?

I've made literally hundreds for friends on CUK.

HTH BIDI

Comment

For many, the balance is had by doing a day or two in the office. I truly believe it helps to build relationships to meet people in person but, just to contradict myself, the team I'm on is entirely virtual due to current events and I think we've done quite well but it's too early to say whether we've become 'friends'.

Comment

Originally posted by DimPrawn View Post
        I've made literally hundreds for friends on CUK.

HTH BIDI
        And Facebook is your friend. If you can avoid getting banned.

Comment