• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

But where are the deaths???

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Originally posted by WTFH View Post
    What would you prefer as a measure of the impact?

Maybe your bank account?

If you reject everything medical or science based, then there's not much left. Unless you are Boris/Trump.
    ... I am not rejecting anything science based. I have spent my career doing analytics and I have a master's in data science. I'm a fan of data based decision making obviously.

Looking at excess deaths in isolation is an issue because it measures both the impact of covid-19 and the interventions. It's difficult to try and isolate which one is having the impact.

Even if it did just measure covid-19 the year to year variability is too high to get anything meaningful from a single year (2020) you'd have to compare multiple years to multiple years.

As far as what's a better metric to use that's a good question... I don't know what the best metric to use is, but it's probably some breakdown/combinations of the causes of and demographics of the dead.

Comment

Originally posted by jayn200 View Post
      ... I am not rejecting anything science based. I have spent my career doing analytics and I have a master's in data science. I'm a fan of data based decision making obviously.

Looking at excess deaths in isolation is an issue because it measures both the impact of covid-19 and the interventions. It's difficult to try and isolate which one is having the impact.