• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

House Purchase Solicitor

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

House Purchase Solicitor

Hi all

Is there a good website with good reviews for Solicitor used for house purchase?
    I'm new to this and been told to avoid one which estate agents recommend.

Thanks

Originally posted by xenomorph View Post
    Hi all

Is there a good website with good reviews for Solicitor used for house purchase?
    I'm new to this and been told to avoid one which estate agents recommend.

Thanks
    Who told you this?

Using a solicitor that the estate agents are used to working with and vice-versa is not necessarily a bad thing but as with all things do a bit of research.

I'm a lot more skeptical of review websites to be honest. Don't forget the estate agent wants the sale to go through smoothly (they make their money on completion), so they are hardly going to recommend a rubbish solicitor. You can always ask if they get a kick back but I would think that is unlikely.
    I am what I drink, and I'm a bitter man

Comment

Originally posted by xenomorph View Post
      Hi all

I'm new to this and been told to avoid one which estate agents recommend. ..
      For reasons which I hope are obvious, you should never use a solicitor recommended by anyone involved with the sale on the selling side, including the sellers themselves, the estate agents, and (for new builds) above all the company who built the house/estate.