• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Working Hours - Where Did My Life Go?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Working Hours - Where Did My Life Go?

I'm a first time contractor; 2 1/2 months' into my first contract.

As a permie I had a fairly good work\life balance - worked a basic 37 hour week and had time to go to the gym after work, spend time with the girlfriend etc.

I am only contracted to a 40 hour week. I work with a lot of contractors and competition to impress more than the next man and to secure that next renewal is high. I've been starting work at 8am (most contractors are already at their desks working when I arrive) and leaving work at about 7pm (most contractors are still at their desks working when I leave). Is this normal?

My limited experience of contracting and other seasoned contractors is that you are worked to within an inch of your life and fellow contractors would sell you down the river and not loose a moments sleep to get their renewal ahead of you.

Yes. Next.

Comment

Originally posted by WetBehindTheEars
      I'm a first time contractor; 2 1/2 months' into my first contract.

As a permie I had a fairly good work\life balance - worked a basic 37 hour week and had time to go to the gym after work, spend time with the girlfriend etc.