• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

How would you go about getting car finance?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

How would you go about getting car finance?

I'm looking to buy a new Z4 M Coupe, it's alot of money, I'm a contractor so obviously I can afford the monthly payments.

Problem is, when I was a wee bit younger I defaulted on a loan, well the bastards sent it too the debt collectors after I missed a monthly payment, anyway they put on my credit history as defaulted So my score comes out very poor.

Should I even bother trying to get this much finance? Are there any way I could obtain the credit, or have any of you been on this situation before, I'm guessing the financers would prob take one look and laugh. Also the missus would kill me if I secured the house against it so don't want to be doing that.

Depends what 'wee bit younger' is. It only stays on your records for 6 years, iirc - if it's longer than that then you don't have to declare it.
    Oh, I’m sorry….I seem to be lost. I was looking for the sane side of town. I’d ask you for directions, but I have a feeling you’ve never been there and I’d be wasting my time.

Comment

about 4 years ago...

I've checked my credit historu myself and I know my score is poor, so I'm guessing car is out the windows, especially borrowing 30-35k anyway (I have about 10k deposit)

Comment

Originally posted by dotnetter
        about 4 years ago...