• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Who is working where?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Who is working where?

Another thread is asking about the job market, I am wondering how many are working local.
    Please post answers saying if your situation is normal ie you have never worked away, or it is unusual to be at home.

For me. I have been working for 30 years, contracting for 10 of those. I have been able to daily commute for all of 7 of those years as either permie or contract. I have had 1 contract in the UK and that was a weekly commute.

Poll to follow.
    I live in the North and daily commute
    19.70%
    I live in the North but lodge during the week.
    15.15%
    I live in the North but commute abroad.
    6.06%
    I live in the South and daily commute
    50.00%
    I live in the South but lodge during the week.
    3.03%
    I live in the South but commute abroad.
    3.03%
    I live abroad but commute to work in the UK.
    3.03%
    I am not qualified to give the above advice!

The original point and click interface by
    Smith and Wesson.

Step back, have a think and adjust my own own attitude from time to time

I live abroad and commute abroad on a daily basis. 20-30 minutes journey each way. Or longer if I stop off at the pub on the way home. On that basis, it's "normal".

In the past though I've commuted to the UK. And when living in the Uk I've done my fair share of weekly commutes.

So, 1996-97 - weekly commute to France from the West Country, ended up working mon and fri remotely