• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

What Dog?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

What Dog?

I have pandered to Mrs Durbs animal needs over the years. We have at the moment house full of cats, fish and guinea pigs (with various other creatures coming and going over the years) i've finally decided i'm going to get what i've always wanted - a dog.

I've very little experience with dogs, having grown up in a cat family (and having had everything from snakes, lizards and hamsters since) so what is a good breed to look for?

I grew up in a pretty rural place so am used to collies but know from experience that farm dogs can range from lovely to insane within the same breed so am after:

- Big'ish dog, at least collie sized, none of these tulipty little toy dogs my mates seem to have
    - Likes exercise but not to the extent of some of the nutter collies i've known
    - I've 2 kids under 5, so nothing even remotely aggresive, needs to be good with kids

Any dog people with any tips? Basically, i'd like a farm collie but know from experience that it'd be a bad idea so what comes close?

You know the answer, you need a black lab.

Ours was a "failed" gun dog, so very well trained, but the most amazing family dog, would be as happy walking for hours in the rain as catching a pheasant as letting kids try and ride him like a horse.

Comment

Originally posted by Halcyon View Post
      letting kids try and ride him like a horse.
      I like that bit and add it as requirement 4! Black Lab is a good dog.