• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Working hours

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Working hours

Hi all,

I've been contracting for a while and on my current contract, the client has come to me with a an issue with my working hours. My contract states a professional working day. I was working hours I prefer and think this is ok (it is 8 hours). I am an independent contractor after all. He would like me to shift my hours later by one hour to be in line with the companies core hours. I said this was a problem for various reasons and one being that he can't control my working hours.

In the end, I decided to give the new hours a go, but it is not working out (I have kids to get home to) so I am about to tell him that I will be changing them.

I'm not sure what his reaction will be, but I really don't want him insisting on certain hours as that sounds like a big IR35 problem. Do you all agree?

Originally posted by somewebguy View Post
    I'm not sure what his reaction will be, but I really don't want him insisting on certain hours as that sounds like a big IR35 problem. Do you all agree?
    The only IR35 issue that I can see is that you didn't take the hint and he's had to insist that you do those hours. Worse by not compromising at all he is insisting on you working those hours everyday and will probably continue to insist that you do so when, if you had been flexible, its possible you might have been inconvenienced merely two or three times a week.
    merely at clientco for the entertainment

Comment