• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Permie or Bye, what would you do?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Permie or Bye, what would you do?

I know this is very personal decision and depends on a whole raft of circumstances.

Looks like this is likely to be the case for me shortly.
    Take the permie offer in current market
    21.43%
    I'm a hard core contractor with a 6 year warchest
    35.71%
    Negotiate a rate increase cos I am indispensible
    23.81%
    Ask AnyW's Mum for advice.
    19.05%
    Never has a man been heard to say on his death bed that he wishes he'd spent more time in the office.

I think I'd sooner live under a bridge than work for someone else.
    And what exactly is wrong with an "ad hominem" argument? Dodgy Agent, 16-5-2014

Comment

Do you enjoy the work?

Is the pay package good or a joke compared to your contract income?

Is it local or are you willing to relocate (commuting is time consuming and costly as a permie)?

Can you learn some new skills and get some paid for training and certification?

Do you actually enjoy the freedom, lifestyle and variety of contract work even though there may be bench time?

Comment

Originally posted by DimPrawn View Post
        Do you enjoy the work?

Is the pay package good or a joke compared to your contract income?

Is it local or are you willing to relocate (commuting is time consuming and costly as a permie)?

Can you learn some new skills and get some paid for training and certification?