• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

horrible day in the office :( got any jokes?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

horrible day in the office :( got any jokes?

Worst day in an office for months for me, today.

Starts with a meeting with the permie team here - brought up that they are unhappy that I distanced myself from them in a meeting with another 3rd party (I introduced myself as a consultant , working with the team during this project).

I say we have a B2B arrangement and I am a freelancer, to which the retort is "no you dont, youre a team member and you'll ruddy well work every day then, as you do what we say"

Then in meeting two, we discuss how everyones out for at least two weeks in December for christmas and project movement is expected to be slow. Everyone here lives locally, my family is 250 miles away.

The team manager then states, in front of the whole meeting "xxxx, I want you in for the majority of christmas" Then goes onto say hes off from the 14th till January and sparks a conversation about everyones christmas breaks.

I've had problems with clients understanding the difference between FTE and contract, but today, in meetings with so many people to say I'm effectively a "contract" FTE is mental.

I loved it here too, but can see this being very problematic going forward. I've not had to deal with someone trying to control my working time as much as this for years.

Anyone got any good cheery news / jokes?

ah meant for general, sorry.

Comment

Originally posted by Scoobos View Post