• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Are dinner expenses um... ethical?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Are dinner expenses um... ethical?

Hi everybody.

I'm new to contracting, got my job through a recruitment agency, and signed up with an umbrella company. They told me that if I'm away from home, for my job, for 10 hours or more per day, I can claim dinner expenses. My hours of work are from 09:00 to 17:30, so that's not unusually long, but the journey to work is an hour each way, so all in all, I'm out of the house for 10.5 hours. So I could claim for dinner, but now I'm thinking that it's just going to leave a bad taste in my employer's mouth (no pun intended). So my question is: is this something that contractors generally do, as a matter of course, and that employers don't have a problem with? Would I be standing up for my rights, or taking the p**s, if I claimed for it?

Also, what are the rules regarding receipts for meal expenses? On my first day, I bought lunch in the morning, on my way to work, so does that mean I can't claim for it, because I didn't buy it at around lunch time?

Thank you in advance.

Good grief it is quiet on here today. I'm surprised you haven't acquired a new bumhole or two, actualy. Nevertheless - I shall bite.

Yes, you can claim for meals under those circumstances and it doesn't matter when you buy your lunch. Pease make sure you don't eat it till lunchtime, as there is a heavy fine from HMRC if you do eat it for - say - elevenses.