• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Rise of the extreme commuter

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Originally posted by Mich the Tester View Post
    I understand that about seeing the kids; I don't have kids but I have plenty of experience from the other side of the equation; my father was away from home a lot due to aid work, then army work and then business when I was a little kid but that was for weeks or months at a time, and then added to that I went off to boarding school at 9; my father and I still don't really know each other very well and sometimes we get on, sometimes it's a rather difficult relationship with both of us keeping some, erm, 'distance'; I can imagine you don't want things to get like that. But two nights a week is not going to do the damage, in fact if it means you're feeling a bit more fresh and cheerful instead of tired and grouchy then the time you spend with your kids will probably be much better, and they'll look forward to seeing you when you get home. Perhaps worth a try for a little while. Maybe your wife has friends who can join her for an evening when she's alone.
    1/2 night a week I normally wouldnt have problem with. At the end of the day, these things have to be done for the money. More money equals more nice things and holidays for the family.