• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

HMRC settlement Deadlines/delays and the LC

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Originally posted by confusionroolz View Post
    Hi newbie here.

I submitted my details last September advising the figures to HMRC and radio silence since then! anyone else in the same boat?
    Suggest you ring the CLSO2 HMRC number and confirm that they have your figures, if they say they do not you may need to provide evidence.

Comment

Originally posted by Cath799 View Post
      A little background.

I met the deadline last year and finally received my settlement pack in March. I queried the figures. It was fairly trivial but I felt that it was unfair to pay high rate tax when my total income that year was under the personal allowance. I was advised not to sign anything and wait for the modified figures.

I got a new letter saying it was my 'final chance to settle' yesterday. I had received no other letters since my query in March. With interest the new figure is larger than the original settlement and I also have a settlement schedule is terms that I am just unable to do. I find these letters very aggressive and threatening when the politicians are saying they are handling the loan charge 'sympathetically'.

I guess I am wondering whether there are others who are in this situation? I did call HMRC but it appears no one can actually discuss what terms are possible so I have sent an email into the abyss.
      Is there anything to be done so I can know what the future looks like?