• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Loan Charge - late to party

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Loan Charge - late to party

Hi All

Sorry for the new thread but not sure i could get answers from the other threads as you all seem to be involved for a while in the LC discussions, and i am a relative noob.

My position is that i worked briefly as a contractor in 2011-12 and used winchester contracts to get paid. Perm since then.

Within that time i have got around 31000 as loans from them and rest as normal pay(for which i filed taxes)

I am now getting all the threatening emails from THL about LC and impending timelines without any further details being shared by LC rather than asking more money

Scared i contacted HMRC and they have no information about me or my loans and i have no enquiries open with them

I am now wondering what my next options are i.e if i should voluntarily tell HMRC i have loans and pay through settlement or wait for LC to come in april and ask for arrangement to pay then?

Any guidance is helpful as i tried asking some accountancy to help and they want £1500 before they even talk to me about this, which i dont have.

Sorry for the quite desperate email but am scared of a big bill and not knowing what to do now

First of all, sit down, relax, get a nice cup of tea and start reading. The search facility on here is your friend and a search on Winchester will bring lots of hits. Focus on the threads in HMRC Enquiries. There are lots of them and you've just started another.