• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

IQ Consultants, Felicitas Solutions, ECS Trustees - loan repayment demands

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X
Collapse
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Originally posted by Wazza1882 View Post

Therefore if these moneylenders are registered moneylenders and advertised their money lending as an income scheme for contractors, then by definition (and I am not a lawyer so not sure) they have mis-sold their service to us.
    Did they advertise their wares as that?

They have not mis-sold. They have offered you an unregulated scheme backed by an opinion from somebody you've probably never heard of, certainly never read, was never intended for you anyway,
    Best Forum Adviser & Forum Personality of the Year 2018.

(No, me neither).

Comment

Originally posted by Iliketax View Post
      Did you spot the exemption for employees in the regulations? I've no idea what they mean as I know little of IOM law.
      I did indeedy.

As I said, this law was introduced for a purpose and it wasn't anything to do with IR35. If someone makes a complaint and provides the OFT with some evidence then, the experts on the operation of the 1991 Act can investigate. As with any other investigating authority, they may not share the results. Plus of course the lenders may have registered in any case.
      Sadly the register isn't online and has to be inspected in person - it is however a public register.

Comment

Originally posted by neveragain View Post