• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Edge EBT thread

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

APN

Hello - I'm new here and have recieved notice that as an ex-Edge Consultant I will be recieving an Accelerated Payment Notice - i think this is the apn referred to above.
    People talk about a group.... can someone let me know details of what this is and how it works and how I can join please?

Comment

Settling with HMRC - Options?

I recently received notification from HMRC that APNs will be issued for the tax years 2010 and 2011. I have no idea at this stage how much is involved but I did received a letter previously related to 2010 referring to a sum in the order of £6k - £7k. Based on this figure (which I am not convinced is correct as it seems they have applied a tax rate of 40% to the full amount of the loan rather than applying the relevant tax rates/ bands) the full amount could be between £25k and £30k, a sum of money I simply do not have nor can get hold of.

Has anyone heard of people in this situation, or are in this situation? Also, does anyone know what HMRC's position be with respect to people in this situation? Are they really going to push for bankruptcy if people can not pay??

Comment

Originally posted by Old Kent Road View Post
        My reading of whole9yards approach was to let the group do the work and then if group successful hmrc would simply refund the APN payments for all scheme members, irrespective of whether inside or outside the group.