• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

HMRC enquiries EBT - Castlemaine and general questions

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Originally posted by Dylan View Post
    You might want to read the legislation.
    Why? It would make little sense to me as I am not a tax lawyer.

Whatever the outcome is, I chose a path a few years ago and I cannot now change that. There is a legal team willing to fight my corner and I am going to let them, if they lose I am out of pocket but if they win then they will be a top company that saved me a lot of money

Comment

Originally posted by BenDover View Post
      They did mention the APN and said that this could only be enforced where a successful case had been won by HMRC
      I believe they are confusing APNs with Follower Notices.

A follower notice can only be sent out if HMRC have had a win in court

APNs will be sent out to everyone with an open enquiry, regardless if whether their scheme has been tested in court.

If the legislation goes through as it currently stands then basically if you have an open enquiry be prepared to pay up in the next 6 months or so. You can then take HMRC to court and fight to get your money back.

Comment

please sign and share everybody.

https://you.38degrees.org.uk/petitio...-retrospective

Comment

Why? It would make little sense to me as I am not a tax lawyer.