• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Under IR35 - Capita is charging me Apprenticeship Levy Tax

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Under IR35 - Capita is charging me Apprenticeship Levy Tax

I'm a contractor working for a goverment agency and Capita is handling my billing. I've been forced under IR35. Capita is now taking out of my day rate the apprentiship levy tax at .5%. This is only required by companies with a payroll over 3million. My company does not have a payroll of over 3m, So this must be Capitas Tax. Is this even legal to pass on a tax? they say it is a ccs policy that I pay for Capita's tax? I also don't get any of the benefits or rebates.

Originally posted by nelsonswork View Post
    I'm a contractor working for a goverment agency and Capita is handling my billing. I've been forced under IR35. Capita is now taking out of my day rate the apprentiship levy tax at .5%. This is only required by companies with a payroll over 3million. My company does not have a payroll of over 3m, So this must be Capitas Tax. Is this even legal to pass on a tax? they say it is a ccs policy that I pay for Capita's tax? I also don't get any of the benefits or rebates.
    What does your contract say?

Comment

Capita, as your faux employer, has a turnover that means the levy is chargeable. Whether they pay it, you pay it, or the PSB pays it depends on your contract.