• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

The Great Tax Rip-Off

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

The Great Tax Rip-Off

Ok...I have been with the same "public sector" client since 2014. (By the way I have been a contractor since 2002)

When the IR35 regulations came about last year, I got hit with a sudden curve-ball because I was oblivious to the fact that my client fell under the description of "public sector". They are not public sector, but fall under the freedom of information act which (as I now know) makes them the same thing.

I went through a short period of denial, whereby I agreed I was outside, my clients on the project agreed I was outside, but the HR office claimed I was under their "control" and therefore inside. So, I put my rate up by 30% to cover the additional taxation, and thought all was good. We renewed my contract, under suitable terms and I was happy for the next 12 months. My agency failed to send me through payslips, but I didn't worry about it because I knew my tax was being deducted. There had been a mess up with them taxing my VAT but I had that corrected.