• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Convince Client NOT to use CEST

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Convince Client NOT to use CEST

I am in a contract working for a public sector client.

I have been contracting for 16 years and on this project for 4.

When the Public Sector Changes came about my client determined the contract was inside IR35. At the time, I put my rate up and accepted it; thinking it would only be short term anyway. However the project has had some changes and been extended several times. They have asked me to stay beyond the end of my current contract until the end of next year.

However, I need to get out of IR35.

My contract and my working practices are outside IR35. The contract stipulates a substitution clause; this is the basis that the client has determined me inside IR35, because they would expect to reject a substitute on the basis that I designed and implemented most of this project, and meaningful work at this point requires an intimate knowledge that a new substitute could not have. Fair enough.