• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Indemnification clause

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

I used to draft "tax contest" letters that were part of commercial agreements.

These basically envisaged scenarios in which one party required the other to take certain actions, such as going to a FTT or UTT - at their own cost or perhaps at shared cost - in order to defend the tax effects that had been factored into the cost of the finance. (I worked in a bank).

In doing so, the start point was that following an initial enquiry from HMRC, the parties agreed that HMRC was incorrect or that there was at least a 75% chance of that.

So almost immediately we are into subjective tests. We, the bank, may decide that we had to challenge an adverse decision on the grounds that we perhaps had a book of similar deals using the same effect. Equally we might decide that the contract used a relatively little used device and that the reputation of the bank would suffer if we defended the situation, regardless of whether we thought we would win.

The other side of the deal would have had similar issues to weigh.

Even where matters of policy allowed consideration of taking or defending an enquiry, it was entirely possible that there were differing views as to the tax effect of a particular item under challenge. To try to provide some certainty (or to limit the areas of uncertainty), some tax issues were agreed between the parties in advance.