• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

IR35 application to IT projects is flawed.

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

IR35 application to IT projects is flawed.

I have been contracting for 4 years and currently in a right pickle regarding the April changes as I am still waiting for current client to announce their intentions, but given it's a large defence company I suspect it will be a blanket inside IR35. I digress, but the real reason I am posting is that if you think about IR35 from an IT perspective it just does not work. Take for example an existing project that has budget for new user functionality. The project is agile, uses Jira and has fortnightly sprint. The SCRUM master (hate that term) is a permie who with the contractors discusses what's on the sprint board.

Each contractor is assigned a number of Jira tasks, but then within the bounds of the existing code base is a given a free reign to implement and test the changes and where appropriate refactor.

Of course each contractor is to a certain extent managed, otherwise how else do you run an agile project with Jira if you don't tell people what they are working on for the sprint. We all know it's not practical to just have a free for all and let contractors just pick and choose what they want to do, so I struggle to understand how HMRC envisage companies engage with IT contractors post April 2020 for such projects?