• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Outside IR35 to a perm...best timing

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Outside IR35 to a perm...best timing

I have been contracting for the same client for 5 years ( different roles and different teams) and my contract ends end of Feb 20. Now all contractors are being moved to a brolly or PAYE contractors. I was offered a perm role instead. Though there will be a drop in take home pay, I am seriously considering taking it until the dust settles in the market.
    Would it be better and less risky of being retrospectively investigated by HMRC to take the perm role now ? Or wait till Feb, leave the client, take a month off, and then join them as a permie? Or it makes no difference and it's best to leave the client and find a job elsewhere ? Anyone is in the same boat?

Originally posted by trailfinder09 View Post
    I have been contracting for the same client for 5 years ( different roles and different teams) and my contract ends end of Feb 20. Now all contractors are being moved to a brolly or PAYE contractors. I was offered a perm role instead. Though there will be a drop in take home pay, I am seriously considering taking it until the dust settles in the market.
    Would it be better and less risky of being retrospectively investigated by HMRC to take the perm role now ? Or wait till Feb, leave the client, take a month off, and then join them as a permie? Or it makes no difference and it's best to leave the client and find a job elsewhere ? Anyone is in the same boat?