• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Extent of IR35 Liability

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Extent of IR35 Liability

I sense this may have been asked already, but I can't find a clear answer on any of the threads, so apologies for duplication - it is my first post

I have been contracting since 2012, but my current contract commenced in November 2019, and is due to end on March 31st.

This is now the fifth different client I have had.

I am working on the assumption that my client will declare all Contractors are inside IR35, and future contract extensions are inside IR35. Assuming that I remain and sign an extension, I understand that this puts me in a difficult position if HMRC come knocking later for reasons that have been covered to death already.

My question is that for backdated tax, am I on the hook for all my previous contracts as a result of signing this extension, or am I just on the hook for the work I have done for this client?

I assume that I would only be on the hook for the current contract, and HMRC would have to prove each previous contract on a case by case basis. Is any one aware of any previous cases where contractors have been caught for multiple contracts?

The reason I am asking is that I'm trying to form a reasonable view of risk. I feel that if I had to only pay backdated tax from November, I could live with that risk, as I'm really enjoying the current contract and would prefer not to leave.