• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

First inside contract

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

First inside contract

Apologies if this question has already been posted.

After 30+ years in IT and 15 years as a contractor I am now about to take my first inside contract with a Public sector client. The daily rate advertised was £350 gross with payroll options of LTD/PAYE/Umbrella, I chose LTD as I am not a single entity PSC and we have other contracts and work. I am supposed to start soon but have now been told that my only payroll option is via an external company that has a product that is specifically for LTD, but they are essentially an Umbrella ltd. This means their breakdown shows after deductions(Employers NI, Apprenticeship levy, intermediary margin, then my PAYE & NI) my NET pay is £212. Should it not be law that the Recruitment agency/client advertise the real NET rate and explain the payroll breakdown from the start? This is a government agency avoiding paying taxes and dumping on the PSC

Originally posted by KarlH View Post
    Should it not be law that the Recruitment agency/client advertise the real NET rate and explain the payroll breakdown from the start?
    Possibly. But it isn't the case. Maybe lobby your MP?
    Down with racism. Long live miscegenation!

Comment

Using your argument shouldn't the agency's give you the rate after its been through your Ltd? Which they don't.