• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Client's responsibility to perform IR35 status check?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Client's responsibility to perform IR35 status check?

Hi all. New to this forum so apologies if this has already been covered - I have had a look through the forum and also elsewhere and can't really find a definitive answer.

I'm a long terms contractor working mainly from home - work for a Uk company who is part of a global group of companies. I invoice my office in the Uk but the timesheet/invoice is ultimately approved and paid from abroad.

I've been trying to get the Uk office to look into the IR35 assessment for a while and no-one really knows who should be doing it. Doesn't help that the company have had 3 HR managers in the last 6 months.

Am I right in assuming it's the company's responsibility to do this - and what are the consequences of them not doing so (Other than me deciding to leave the company!).

Many thanks.

How long is long term?

Who is your contract with?

I think this article and particularly the paragraph in italics answers your question.

IR35: What to do with an overseas client?
    Last edited by northernladuk; 2 March 2020, 10:47.
    'CUK forum personality of 2011 - Winner - Yes really!!!!

Comment