• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

TAAR Rules - Opening new LTD withing 2 years

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

TAAR Rules - Opening new LTD withing 2 years

Hi All,

Id like some advice please with regards to opening a new LTD company after reading a number of threads and the articles (Transactions in securities) & (Changes to tax on MVLs overstated | Chris Maslin's blog).

Bit of history:

1) Ive been contracting under company A for the past 6 years doing Job A. Company A ceased trading last year and I initiated MVL at the beginning of Jan 20. Final distribution was made a few weeks ago and now im waiting for Company A to officially close. In the meanwhile, ive been employed by an Umbrella doing Job A at a different client (I understand going LTD>Umbrella is a grey area when doing the same role).

2) Because of the grey area mentioned above, I managed to interview and secure Job B, which is much different to Job A but within the same industry. The client for Job B initially said they were only accepting Umbrella / PAYE workers as they determined Job B to be inside IR35. Everything was going to plan until this morning, where for some reason the client have now stated that because the IR35 reform has been delayed for 12 months, they will revert back to only taking LTD contractors and then in 2021 accept Umbrella only (Crazy logic!!! - but this is the HR teams final decision)

So I have 3 questions: