• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Making the Leap

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Making the Leap

Hi all.

I'm new to the forum and new to contracting. Well, that's not quite right I'm not new to contracting. I've never done it before!

I'm in a permanent contract and feeling a little trapped. I keep making excuses why I can't just hand in my notice. I don't have the money in case things go wrong. I'm not sure the market is right. I'm learning too much on this project.

Are these feelings common when moving from permanent to contracts? Any advice or tips?

Thanks in advance.

Nick

Not really. Most people have a reason to go. You've made some pretty good reasons to stay so no I'd say most people don't feel like you.

Don't wanna be rude and I'm making an assumption here but if you are still learning you aren't ready for contracting. You've got to be better than the next guy and if you aren't its going to be hard work at every new gig.
    'CUK forum personality of 2011 - Winner - Yes really!!!!

Comment

Go for it. You'll get a lot of negativity on this forum (mostly justified) but if you're financially able to handle it going wrong (as in don't ruin yourself financially), then do it. Life's too short to wait. Many will say wait until you're more prepared but I say bollox, just do it*.

*just don't take a slice of my lucrative pie

Comment

Originally posted by nickbennett View Post
        Hi all.