• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Advice On Training Please - What's Hot Now?!

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Advice On Training Please - What's Hot Now?!

Hi,

I have been working as a web developer for around 10 years now, however most of my work has been custom applications using PHP/MySQL so I don't have any experience of frameworks and as a result I am struggling to find work. I am looking at brushing up my skills with some training, I was thinking of doing a Magento course as this seems to be a skill that's in demand, does anyone have any other advice on skills that are in demand that I could get trained in?

Thanks for your advice

rescued by the 'dont let the newbie sink into oblivion' service
    (\__/)
    (>'.'<)
    ("")("") Born to Drink. Forced to Work

Comment

Originally posted by shaunie View Post
      Hi,

I have been working as a web developer for around 10 years now, however most of my work has been custom applications using PHP/MySQL so I don't have any experience of frameworks and as a result I am struggling to find work. I am looking at brushing up my skills with some training, I was thinking of doing a Magento course as this seems to be a skill that's in demand, does anyone have any other advice on skills that are in demand that I could get trained in?

Thanks for your advice
      PHP was written by code monkeys for code monkeys, and the abysmal PHP contract rates (and the quality of the language) reflect that.