• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

starting new contract & just set up ltd now need accountancy advice

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

starting new contract & just set up ltd now need accountancy advice

Hi,

I am just starting out as a contractor. I have a contract starting July 8th (£125 p/day - i know its not much but it is a start). I will also be doing other projects on the side building small websites for sole traders etc.

I have just used the government website to register a ltd. Do I need an accountant? I have no idea about these things so I am assuming I do.

Can anyone recommend one that doesn't cost too much as I don't think their workload will be much dealing with me. I also want someone who has a software system for putting invoicing together.

Also do I need indemnity insurance when I start this contract or is that something they will request. I haven't seen the contract yet, I only got the call saying I landed it on Friday.

I hope someone on here can help me, I know I am small fry at the moment - but I hope to grow and I think I will be able to grow the website building side of the business as I have had lots of interest. The contracting company has agreed to a 3/4 day week so I can still work on building my business.

many thanks in advance.