• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Letter of Intent, is it legally binding?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Letter of Intent, is it legally binding?

Hi all,

Just decided to ask you for opinions as I am a beginner when it comes to legal agreements and everything.

I've been negotiation very briefly with company which is going to offer their services for big organization. They are looking for contractors who would do the work in case their offer is accepted.

Now everything is quite clear so far, but they would like me to sign letter of intent, stating that:

"I, the undersigned, XXX, working as a freelancer, hereby declare to accept to work for XXX in the framework XXX.

In case XXX proposes my CV to provide XXX services, either in a Time and Means context or in the context of a fixed-cost service contract, and the proposal is accepted by the XXX, I fully commit to comply with all the rules applicable to the contract."

Should I sign this, what do you think? Reading letter to letter, this would bind me to work in any country for any rate for any period of time, which would be, of course, insane. However, this is labeled as "letter of intent" so I assume this is not legally binding (I do not know this stuff well enough!), only morally and I can sign this without worries? And if there would be job opportunity suitable for me, I would then start to negotiate over exact terms, like daily rate, right (I have already told them my rate requirements so they know it)?