• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Microsoft Sharepoint

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Microsoft Sharepoint

The client here has seen this and thinks it is the answer to the report distribution mess (version control, disparate network, email overload etc) which exists at the moment.

Anyone out there have any advice, comment or pointers to where I can go to check this out and find out more.

I am a fairly techie-savvy Finance manager but not an IT guru.

MS website is your best bet.

I recently set up a sharepoint site for a company [ previously I had no sharepoint experiece ] - there are loads of books on the matter but I founf the "for dummies" one of the better ones.

We installed sharepoint as we had 3 development centres around the world who were working on the same projects or for the same clients, the ability to manage documents was really good, and SP provided and easy route to set up sub-site [ much like Intranet ] for various parts of the org [ ie BA's, Sales, Development, Support ] etc.
    Cenedl heb iaith, cenedl heb galon

Comment

I'd agree with that, it's not the best config management tool, but it is certainly easy to set up and run with a minmum of fuss. Needs AD, and is almost infinitely configurable to get it to do what you want it to do.

Try this: www.microsoft.com/sharepoint/
      http://office.microsoft.com/sharepoint/
      http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/SharePoint
      http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Windows...Point_Services

HTH.
      Will ya have a cup of tea now there Fether?