• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Anyone traced their family tree?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Anyone traced their family tree?

About to start

Any tips, advice, good resources?
    Si posse, recte, si non, quocumque modo rem

genesreunited is a good starting point

My dad's doing this at the moment - that's where he started.

Comment

I've been doing mine for about 2 years now - I got to the point where the internet runs out of steam (1831 when births and marriages had to be centrally registered) after about a year and I've been trolling around parish records, british library etc since then. Now got back to 1726 in St Kitts and Nevis - fascinating and people really want to help you!

I would start by registering for the free trial with www.ancestry.co.uk and doing as much as you can in the month. If it looks like it's going somewhere, you might as well pay for membership as it's a really useful tool and I think it costs about £75.

Family tree making software is freely available and the better ones automaticall search various databases as soon as you put someone's name in. Make sure the one you use can open .ged files as these are the international standard file.

Watch out for blind alleys, don't make assumptions, persevere and you will soon become totally absorbed.

pm me if you want any specific advice...

Good luck

Comment

Originally posted by Bear View Post
        About to start

Any tips, advice, good resources?