• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Get interviews but not job.. any tips?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Get interviews but not job.. any tips?

Hello,

I'm a project manager with a few year's permanent experience from a media company (a large corporation), now I'm trying to move into contracting, hopefully something more creative, ideally a digital agency.

Have had 4 interviews in 2 weeks, but think I think I'm not blagging enough on the experience front, as feedback is generally "you don't have the solid budgetary experience we need" or "not sure you could fit into this environment". I have done some costing, what do contractors do in this situation? If you think you can do something are you still totally honest if you haven't got exactly what an employer wants? I don't want to lie but think something in my attitude isn't working.

Two agencies have said they'd happily consider me 1 or 2 contracts down the line. They've also said I'm "nice, bright, intelligent" and would fit into the culture. But one also said "how honest I am".

I'm fed up of getting feedback that makes me sound like an andrex puppy, any tips good.

Thanks.

Feedback

As a PM to another, it sounds to me like you need to brush up on your budgeting, forecasting and estimating techniques. What tools have you used for those? Was it just MS Project?
    What size of projects have you been involved with? Hundreds of thousands, a few millions or multi-million?