• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Hello from a newbie!

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Hello from a newbie!

Hi everyone,

I'm brand new to this so please be gentle

I've always been in employed work, until I was made redundant earlier this year. I've now been offered a contracting position, but there seems to be so much conflicting information out on the web.

I have a meeting next week with the agency and they want to know at that point if I want to use an umbrella company or my own Ltd Co......

Apparently the contract is "IR35 friendly" and so I gather that the Ltd Co is the most tax efficient option - can anyone confirm this, please?

Also, I understand I would draw a minimum salary (to the tax bracket only) and take the rest as dividends - can one draw dividends on a monthly basis? Or does it have to be the end of the year - in which case I couldn't afford to take this option as I need to meet monthly outgoings. Also I need to pay tax on the dividends I understand....????

And finally (for now) I will obviously pay Corporation tax on the profits of the business - can I claim the cost of the train travel to London each day as a business expense?

If anyone can help me out, or point me in the direction of a factually accurate and layman's term guide to all of this, I would be most appreciative.

Many thanks

Originally posted by Smartie Driver View Post
    Hi everyone,