• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Negligence in Software Development - Legal Proceedings?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Negligence in Software Development - Legal Proceedings?

I am a professional web developer who has been contracting since 2008 and of all the clients I've worked for, none of them have come back and said that the work was substandard or that i have been negligent in terms of my ability to do the work that was required of me. In fact, most have written recommendations on LinkedIn as to my capacity to deliver and one place even offered me a permanent job.

However, in the last 6 months or so I did some work for a client through an agency who found me the contract. Not the easiest of clients and they had no technical knowledge so they were completely reliant on me to provide my input and expertise on all things technical. They even said to me once that they thought changes to the application were easy to which I responded that nothing is easy, just challenging and different.

Having finished with them they have now hired another contractor who has told them that he has had to rewrite sections of the application, that it is susceptible to hacking, other changes should have been implemented and that there are still some bugs in the application.