• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Advice on Limited Companies - accountants, etc

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Advice on Limited Companies - accountants, etc

Hi everyone.

This is my first time posting at the site, but I've already found it to be very informative, just reading it over the past few days.

I've just got a new job here in the UK (Australian who recently arrived in London). Because of my Visa, the employer wants me to become a contractor.

I have been told that the most cost effective way for me to do this is through a Limited Company.

When I arrived, I signed up with 1st Contact for a Limited Company. However, they will charge me 5% from my pay each week to manage it. It seems like far too much money to me, and I've decided not to go through them. (The company is lying dormant with them - not sure if that will have an impact on things).

I've been trying to find an accountant/company that offers a fixed price management fee and that is reputable. It's hard not knowing the financial system and I don't really know where to seek advice.

So that's why I'm posting here! Would love help from anyone who could recommend someone who is competitively priced and reputable to deal with.

I don't want to pay a percentage-based fee so am only interested in looking at fixed fees.

I saw something about K&B Accountants, but have also read some unflattering posts about them.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. I am starting my new work next week, so want to try and get the ball rolling ASAP.

Cheers.